short linux post

I’m taking a break from working on Linux from Scratch to do an install of Gentoo. Gentoo is really not that hard to install. The instructions are very well written and easy to follow. I screwed up the grub.conf somehow (I’m sure this was my fault, just like Bin-utils, Pass2 in lfs was my fault) but I dropped to the grub shell, fixed "root=" (I had it in the /dev/sda? form, and it needs to be in (hd0,?). I’ll fix the config file later. The nice thing about a vm is that I can interrupt in the middle of a software install (gnome, in this instance) and come back later and finish it. That’s why there’s no hurry to fix the grub config;I can just suspend the machine and not have to worry about booting.

I’m running both lfs and gentoo in vmware. I would prefer to use Virtual Box because of the the open source thing, but it doesn’t support screen resolutions or my hardware as well.

later . . .

Leave a Reply

