I am not a street photographer . . .

. . . but, oh, do I wish I was. I was downtown with my wife a couple of weeks ago taking pictures of a couple buildings, and we stopped at a cafe for an hour or so. The weather was beautiful, so we sat outside in the sun and had, respectively, ice cream and Eiskaffee. (Coffee with vanilla ice cream in it. Good stuff.)

While we were waiting a younger couple sat down two tables away. The woman was wearing a pink t-shirt and sunglasses. She immediately lit up a cigarette, then pulled out a pink cell phone. She sat there leaning back with her cigarette in her left hand, staring at her cell phone in her right. It would have been a classic photo, and I really wish I could show it to you, but I just didn’t have the guts to lift up my camera and shoot. I was too afraid that she would glance in my direction as I shot.
I had two other wonderful opportunities that day (a woman in a red dress and straw hat with a camera who looked like she had just walked out of a dream, and a kind of macho looking guy wearing a tank top and oil-slick sunglasses picking cigarette ash off of his shirt) and I wasn’t brave enough to shoot. I will regret that for the rest of my life, but I still don’t think I will shoot the next time. I haven’t the nerve for it. Sigh . . .
Here’s one shot I did take:
 
The pink woman was sitting just under the street lamp to the left. I am a coward.
Leave a Reply

