Two Questions about Sourdough

I have celiac disease. Seems to be milder than many people, but I’m  definitely intolerant of wheat products. But I love wheat. I heard Michael Pollan on Michael Feldman’s “What Do You Know” the other day, and he said that he had heard that some people who have gluten intolerance can tolerate sour doughs, because the fermentation process breaks down the gluten. Question Number 1: Is this true? Any food chemists feel free to chime in here.

So I decided to try baking sourdough bread. I made my own starter many, many years ago, and the results were quite good. I looked around the internet for starter recipes, and I see all these recipes that call for packaged yeast. Question Number 2: Why the fuck would anyone use packaged yeast in a sourdough starter? The whole idea of sour dough is to culture wild strains of yeast. Why would you want to make it harder for these wild strains to survive? If you’re putting packaged yeast in your sourdough, in ain’t real sourdough.

Leave a Reply

